When I accepted my fate

Recently I was told that it is practically impossible for me to graduate college in the four years I was supposed to originally. As a young woman who absolutely can not wait to start teaching this was heart breaking news to get from my educational director. I don’t want to push my future off any longer. If I could go into teaching now I feel like I have the confidence to do so, maybe not the knowledge but I could certainly hold my own in front of 30 teenagers. But there really isn’t much I can do to help my situation. I will inevitably be staying at school an extra year. So I’ve embraced a new way to think about it. I didn’t fail at what I wanted to do, I’m just making sure I can do it to the best of my ability. Learning to teach children shouldn’t be something to learn quickly, it should be something you learn how to do well and in the best manner to benefit the children that will eventually be in your class. And I want to do everything I can to be the best teacher I can be, because teachers change lives, and that’s all I want.

Leave a Reply

