To My Best Friend

She’s been my best friend in the entire world for as long as I can remember. I can text her about anything and she’ll always respond within minutes. She’s been with me through every weird phase of my life I’ve gone through. Every heartbreak, every success, every failure, every disaster, and every blessing. Honestly she is one of those blessings. There isn’t a day that goes by and she doesn’t try to make me smile.

But the weird thing is that she looks up to me. I need her more than anything, but I’m the person she’s aspiring to be. To her my life is perfect. She thinks I have the perfect body, the greatest friends, amazing hair, she thinks I’m super smart, and that I know where I’m going in life. This may be surprising to her, but everything she loves about me isn’t how it looks. I wish she felt that way about herself, because to me she’s the perfect one. I struggle everyday with confidence and faith in myself, and she walks around like she owns the damn world. I never admit to her that I’m scared of anything, but really I don’t have to. She knows but never lets me find out, and just offers her advice in a sneaky way. I can not even begin to explain how thankful I am for this girl. She came into my life with no warning, turning my entire world upside down… and that began the best part of my life.

Being her big sister has made me into the woman I am today. All those years of playing school and letting me be in charge taught me that I wanted to be a teacher. Those busy nights of babysitting that taught me that I want to be a mom. And those endless moments of laughter that taught me how to live fearlessly, honestly, and true to who I am. She helped me find myself, and for that I will always be grateful.

Leave a Reply

