Day 17: List your highs and lows in the past year

For some reason, the year 2016 has been made into a meme of lows for everyone, but when I really look back on it, it’s hard to find lows for myself. I had a lot of great things happen for me.

  • I turned 21 and had an amazing birthday weekend with some of my very best friends
  • I got a new baby sister Addie
  • I successfully took two summer courses while working crazy hours and still managing to find time for fun
  • I took on driving
  • I’m finishing out probably one of the most successful semesters I’ve had since like sophomore year of high school
  • I’ve spent tons of time with the people that mean the most to me in life

That’s just to name a few things… Finding lows is really hard because all of my lows are in my head… There was a point this past year where I really shut everyone out. I spent hours on the phone with my little sister just telling her everything I was thinking and feeling. Things I probably wouldn’t dare tell anyone else. I got to a point where I felt like I couldn’t talk to my friends, my boyfriend, or even my mom because just no one understood me but my sister, and honestly I don’t think she understood either. Really I just think she tried to understand because she was worried about me. All this began happening around the same time I kind of stopped writing my blog… I didn’t know how to express my emotions without feeling vulnerable to people who personally knew me and read my blog. I don’t know if it was my relationship being a little rocky, or school just draining me of all my effort, or even things being tense with my mother for a bit, but I just wasn’t myself. This would probably be the biggest low I’ve had in a long time, not even knowing who I was, what I wanted, where I wanted to go with my life, who my friends were. All of these things were right in front of me, but my own dark cloud over my head wouldn’t let me see it.

I wouldn’t trade the people in my life for anything in the world! I have an amazing family who love me to death, I have a boyfriend whose been through hell and high water with me, his family that treats me like the daughter they never had, and some of the best friends a girl could ask for (some who even read my blog when they see it;)) I know I was a bit moody, and not myself, but I wanna thank all of you, Mom, Alisyn, Joel, Lauren, and bunches of others for loving me until I was through exploring myself and being all meh.

I’d say my biggest high was having all of these people here to get me through the low, whether they know they did or not!

***Don’t forget to check out Bubbly Bubbie Blog tomorrow for Day 18: What book could you read over and over again***

Leave a Reply

